2021 Board Elections

GVEA 2021 District 7 Runoff Election Results

On July 29, GVEA’s Election Committee certified the results of the 2021 Board of Directors Runoff election for District 7.

Congratulations to Todd Adams who was elected to serve a three-year term.

  • Of the 1,141 ballots mailed, 303 valid ballots were cast, a 27% return.
    • Todd Adams: 183 votes / 60.6%
    • Katherine Hennigan: 119 votes / 39.4%

GVEA 2021 Board General Election Results

On June 10, GVEA’s Election Committee certified the results of the 2021 Board of Directors election. 

Congratulations to District 4 incumbent Gary Newman who was elected to another three-year term.

In District 7, two candidates, challengers Todd Adams and Katherine Hennigan, are headed for a runoff election. There were four candidates in the General Election representing District 7 and no candidate received the required 40% or more of the votes cast for the district. In accordance with GVEA’s Bylaws, a run-off election will now be held between Todd and Katherine, the two candidates who received the most votes.

Here are the full results:

District 4: Of the 6,501 ballots mailed, 957 valid ballots were cast, a 15% return.

  • Derek Miller: 405 votes / 42%
  • Gary Newman: 550 votes / 58%

District 7:  Of the 1,141 ballots mailed, 290 valid ballots were cast, a 25% return. Ballots for the District 7 run-off election between Todd Adams and Katherine Hennigan will be distributed within 21 days.

  • Todd Adams: 111 votes / 38%
  • Brad Benson: 61 votes / 21%
  • Katherine Hennigan: 79 votes / 27%
  • Julie Morris: 39 votes / 14%

Our sincere appreciation to all of the candidates. We recognize the commitment and dedication required to campaign. Of the valid ballots cast, 855 were paper ballots and 392 were online ballots.

In 2022, directors for District 5 (Chris Bunch) and District 6 (John Sloan) will be up for election. For more information about GVEA’s Board of Directors, visit: http://d0q.d2f.myftpupload.com/board-of-directors/

GVEA Election Helpline

(855) 761-9111
PO Box 1368, Palmer, AK 99645

District 7

Nominated by Committee

Todd Adams

Katherine Hennigan

Instructions & Director Application Materials:

Additional Information:

The Election Process

The Board of Director Nomination & Election Process Handbook is downloadable. It contains information on the qualifications for directors, as well as the processes of being nominated, running by petition and campaigning.

Nominating Committee Handbook 

District Maps

District 1 Map
Includes the railroad industrial area, which includes Well St and Phillips Field Rd south of the Johansen Expy to the Chena River; Graehl Subd to Hamilton Ave and north of Adak Ave; heading north out of Fairbanks, the general area west of the Steese Hwy, including Fox, Chatanika, Haystack and Elliot Hwy; Farmers Loop, Goldstream, Murphy Dome and Sheep Creek Roads; the University of Alaska; College Rd and north of Noyes Slough, excluding Lemeta Subd. south of College Rd.

District 2 Map
Includes Lemeta Subd; the general area south of Noyes Slough and north of the Chena River; Doyon Estates; Danby Street; Aurora Subd, Geist Rd; University West; Chena Ridge; Goldhill Rd; Ester; and the Parks Hwy south to Mile 343.

District 3 Map
Includes the area south of the Chena Small Tracks and east of Chena Pump to Rosie Creek; the west side of Fairbanks, south of the Chena River, west of Peger Rd. and south of Airport Way; north of Richardson Hwy to Woll Rd; and south of the Chena River and Chena Slough over to Nordale Rd; and Richardson Hwy west of Mile 352.

District 4 Map
Includes downtown Fairbanks, north of Airport Way and east of Peger Rd up to the Chena River; the subdivisions of Island Homes, Hamilton Acres, Shannon Park and Birchwood Homes; all areas east of the Steese Hwy heading north out of Fairbanks and south of Goldstream Rd, including Chena Hot Springs Rd; also Secluded Acres Subd, located east of Ft. Wainwright and north of the Chena River.

District 5 Map
Includes the area of North Pole; the Richardson Hwy from Mile 352 and the east side of Woll Rd; Nordale Rd; the area north of Chena Slough; Moose Creek; Eielson; and south to the Salcha River.

District 6 Map
Includes Delta Junction, Fort Greely and all areas south of the Salcha River, including Harding and Birch Lakes.

District 7 Map
Includes the areas of Nenana, Clear, Anderson, Healy, McKinley Village and Cantwell.