Board of Directors


Golden Valley Electric Association members are elected by district to serve on GVEA’s board of directors. GVEA’s service area is divided into seven geographical districts. Directors are elected for three-year terms, with no more than three directors elected in any one year. For more information about director elections, visit the GVEA election page.

Board Internal Committees

Board External Committees

David Messier, Director for District 1
Phone: (907) 978-1866

Contact David Messier

David Messier, Director for District 1David Messier moved to the Interior in 2009 and lives off Farmers Loop in a home that he designed and built. He currently works as the Rural Energy Coordinator for Tanana Chiefs Conference and has been helping rural Alaskan communities and small utilities on projects aimed at addressing and reducing the high cost of energy for over a decade. Dave serves on the Renewable Energy Alaska Project (REAP) Board of Directors and on the Alaska Center for Energy and Power (ACEP) Advisory Committee, as well as other state and federal energy working groups. He enjoys hunting, fishing and skiing. Dave and his wife, Heidi, have two young children. He’s passionate about working to reduce the high cost of energy for residents of Alaska’s interior. Dave began his second term on the board in 2020 and currently serves as Treasurer. 

District 1 seat will be next up for election in 2023.

Tom DeLong, Director for District 2
Phone: (907) 347-6215

Contact Tom DeLong

Tom DeLong imageTom DeLong currently serves as Chairman of the board and was first elected in 2005. He and his wife, Ann, have two grown daughters. He has worked at ABR, Inc. – Environmental Research & Services for the last 28 years. Tom has also owned and operated Tolovana Hot Springs, a remote natural hot springs, since 1987. Tom is very interested in the study of utility rate design, energy efficiency, conservation and renewable energy. He enjoys the design and building of small wind and solar projects to provide LED lighting off the grid. Hobbies include skiing, hiking, hunting, fishing, table tennis, and flying.

District 2 seat will be next up for election in 2023.

Richard J. “Rick” Solie, Jr., Director for District 3
Phone: (907) 374-8194

Contact Rick Solie

Rick Solie was elected to GVEA’s Board of Directors in 2020. He and his wife, Cherie, have three married children and two grandchildren. Rick is a 50-year resident of Fairbanks and is the owner of Solie Consulting, whose clients include Tower HIll Mines, where he serves as Manager of Investor & Community Relations. He has 30+ years of government and public affairs experience throughout Alaska in mining, oil and gas, healthcare, and government sectors. Rick is active in various community and business organizations, including as a Director of Alaska Miners Association, the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce and Radiant Church. He also serves as Chairman of the Alaska Board of the American Heart Association. In his free time, Rick enjoys boating, hiking, hunting and skiing. He’s focused on lowering the cost and improving the reliability of electric service to GVEA members.

District 3 seat will be next up for election in 2023.

Gary Newman, Director for District 4
Phone: (907) 488-2001

Contact Gary Newman

Gary Newman imageGary Newman currently serves as Secretary of the board and was first elected in June 2015. He has lived in Fairbanks since 1972. He and his wife, Chena, a life-long Alaskan, have two grown sons. Gary has had several professions: telecommunications and PBX systems installer; energy auditor; and weatherization, housing and facilities manager for Tanana Chiefs Conference; and computer and network systems administrator at UAF. He has been an active member of GVEA for decades. Gary previously served on the Fairbanks North Star Borough Platting Board and Planning Commission and currently serves on a number of local non-profit boards. Playing Celtic-style music is a hobby of Gary’s. He also assists his wife with the development of Koponen Homestead, a residential and recreational community on Chena Ridge. Gary hopes his efforts on the GVEA board will encourage more member-owner engagement.

District 4 seat will be next up for election in 2021.

Chris Bunch, Director for District 5
Phone: (907) 590-0420

Contact Chris Bunch

Chris Bunch imageChris Bunch was elected to the board in July 2013. He has lived in Alaska for 32 years and is a pipefitter superintendent for TCI Construction, Inc. Chris is a member and executive board member for the Local Union 375 Plumbers and Pipefitters. He and his wife, Megan, have two young sons. Chris is involved in youth hockey and enjoys hunting, fishing, and snow machining.

District 5 seat will be next up for election in 2022.

John Sloan, Director for District 6
Phone: (907) 322-4391

Contact John Sloan

John Sloan imageJohn Sloan was elected to the board in June 2007 and currently serves as Vice Chairman. He retired from the Delta/Greely School District in 2002 after teaching for 21 years. John owns/operates the Buffalo Center Drive-In in Delta Junction. John has been active in the Delta community since 1981, when he and his wife, Linda, arrived. They raised four children in Delta, which offered the opportunity to be involved in various youth and community activities. John has served on the Delta Greely Hockey Assoc. board of directors, coached hockey, little league, and girls’ softball. He has also been a member of the Delta Junction City Council, LEPC, Delta Lion’s Club, Delta Chamber of Commerce and Pioneers of Alaska Igloo 35. In 2005, John traveled to Sri Lanka with a small group from Fairbanks to aid in the Tsunami Relief Effort and has since returned two more times. John enjoys reading, kayaking, biking, and snowboarding.

District 6 seat will be next up for election in 2022.

Todd Adams, Director for District 7
Phone: (907) 832-5809

Contact Todd Adams

Todd Adams was elected to the board in July 2021. He has lived in Alaska for 25 years and is a retired Senior Project Manager for Siemens. His professional career has been devoted to design and execution of utility monitoring and control systems on large-scale, complex sites for commercial, industrial and government sectors. Todd enjoys retriever training and competition, hunting, fishing and farming. District 7 seat will be up for election in 2024